/* */

Friday, January 08, 2010

Pledge 2012: No vote for Obama

Some of Barack Obama's bad actions:

30,000 more troops to Afghanistan
record high military budget
bombing by unmanned drones in Pakistan
continued Iraq war
rejection of landmine treaty
continued torture and coverup of past torture
support for Honduras coup
support for Israeli occupation of Palestine
suppression of Goldstone Gaza war report
bank bailout
no prosecution or even investigation of Bush & Co
reaffirmation of Patriot Act
for insurance companies & vs single payer
support for expanded nuclear power

For these, and many other bad actions,

We the undersigned publicly pledge not to vote for Barack Obama for US president in 2012.

Robert Halfhill
Amber Garlan
Tom Cleland
David Weisberg
Dave Bicking
Andy Hamerlinck
Doug Mann
Ted Dooley
Melissa Hill
Dori Ullman
Ryan Carey
Jan McGee
Bill Oldfather
Carol Mellom
Michelle Gross
Mike Whelan
Robert Palmer
Tom Dooley
Tim Nolan
Johnny Hazard
Suzanne Linton
Michael Cavlan
Steven Boyer
John Simcox
Louise Bouta
Vanessa Vogl
Lisa Grant
M J Schoen
Clinton Dietrich
Lydia Howell
David Shove
[room for YOUR name]

[As of 12/30/2009 -- tom]

==end of pledge

[To sign this pledge, email David Shove or myself from your standard personal email address, with your name, and the words: No Obama 2012 vote. Or post a comment below, or contact me on facebook. -- tom]

The above will be published regularly on the Progressive Calendar, Green Party lists, etc. Continuing chances for additional people to sign.

If you need to research any topic raised here, go to eg:
CounterPunch http://counterpunch.org
Dissident Voice http://dissidentvoice.org
Common Dreams http://commondreams.org
Once you're there, do a search on your topic, eg obama drones


At Fri Jan 08, 07:23:00 AM CST, Blogger Tom Cleland said...

This is the Declaration of Independence and I'm John Hancock!

At Fri Jan 08, 07:25:00 AM CST, Blogger Tom Cleland said...

Republicans can sign, but then they're publicly supporting the stated reasons, which certainly rules out any Republican candidates.

At Sat Jan 16, 05:35:00 PM CST, Blogger Tom Cleland said...

New signers as of 1/11/2010:

Farheen Hakeem
Jan Nye
Margaret Beegle
Dave Berger
Brandy Baker (MD)
Myles Hoenig (MD)
Danene Provencher

At Sun Jan 17, 10:44:00 AM CST, Blogger Tom Cleland said...

Mustafa Adam also signed the petition, later on 1/11/2010.

At Sun Jun 27, 02:45:00 PM CDT, Blogger Tom Cleland said...

New signers:

Donald L Maxwell
Neil Lageson
Molly Reiter
Mustafa Adam
Bob Schmitz
Mary Metchnek
Dan Dittman
James Benthall (Rochester MN)
Alan Maki
Maria Balla
Judy Bjorke
Kenny Kalligher

At Sat Nov 03, 07:51:00 PM CDT, Blogger Tom Cleland said...

David Horton


Post a Comment

<< Home